Party Time! (Excellent)

Before I get back to my myth debunking, I wanted to let you know that I’m having a party tomorrow and you’re invited. No, really! Here’s your invitation:

Who: Anyone on Twitter
When: Thursday, 8:30 pm EST
Where: Twitter!

And now for the What:

Bloggers, you know how in your blog statistics you can see the search engine terms folks used to find or stumble upon your blog? In WordPress it looks like this:

Search Engine Terms

I glow with pleasure when someone searches for my blog by name, but other than that glad moment, today’s term crop was pretty tame. I can figure out which of my posts were connected with each and every one of those searches.

This is not always the case. On many days – if not most – the term crop is a source of amusement, wonder and downright confusion. The Search Engine Terms section has far surpassed the Spam Comments as my favorite statistics feature.

The searches can be wacky, such as, I’m a short smurf. Okay. Good to know.

Some make me wish I could’ve seen the person’s face when they clicked on the post. For instance, I’m positive that brown rice, demystified brought up this post. That person must have thought, What the…?

Some leave me scratching my own head. I can honestly say that I have NO idea where the person landed who searched for seymour paving doesn’t respond.

Ditto for my current favorite: wife groping stories while at cinema with her kids. I’m quite sure I don’t want to know for what it is that person was searching.

Some recent comments on Twitter have convinced me that other bloggers find this as hilarious and perplexing as I do. So, I thought, why not share the fun? Let’s have a hashtag party on Thursday night and swap #oddblogsearches!

Here’s How it works:

1. Make sure you’re logged into Twitter at 8:30 p.m. EST on Thursday, July 7th.
2. Get your #oddblogsearches ready!
3. Use the hashtag #oddblogsearches to Tweet your weird and wild search engine terms.
4. Use the hashtag #oddblogsearches to find and view other bloggers’ Tweets.
5. Don’t forget to comment on others’ Tweets!

The only rule is that you remember there are people behind those searches. Sure, we’ll be poking some good, clean fun at the terms as we wonder, how in the heck did that link to my blog? but let’s keep it light. Thanks!

If you aren’t a blogger, come on by anyway! It should be a few laughs. And don’t forget to spread the word!

8 responses to “Party Time! (Excellent)

  1. Sounds like fun! I plan to be there:)

  2. haha that sounds like fun. I’ll most likely be home, so I’ll join in on the fun!

  3. LOL! Hilarious search terms!

  4. Fun! :) That’s right when I’m leaving work, but I’ll try to check in. :)

Leave a Reply

