To Sir with Love

One year ago today, I woke up to the sound of coyotes howling in the distance.

“What do you think it means?” I asked my husband-to-be who was lying in bed beside me. I was sure it was some kind of omen, but was it good or bad?

“It means that there are coyotes howling in the distance.” His tone said, go back to sleep.

It was five o’clock on the morning of our wedding day.

I was too excited and nervous to go back to sleep. Were coyotes a bad omen? Would we have bad luck because we saw each other before the ceremony? Was it true that people who lived together before marriage were more likely to get divorced? I snuggled close to him and let his warmth melt away my worries.

     *               *               *                *               *               *

This morning I woke up expecting to hear the sound of coyotes, but it was quiet.

I am very much a person of pattern. If I don’t find it, I look for it. So, I reasoned, if I’m not hearing them, he must be.

I wondered if there are coyotes in Afghanistan.

Had he been here this morning, on the morning of our first wedding anniversary, I probably would have said, “I don’t hear any coyotes today. What do you think it means?”

To which he would likely have replied, “It means our neighbors have stopped feeding the turkeys.”

Leave a Reply

