Do-It-Yourself Raincoat

We woke up to more rain today. Owen had an appointment at the vet’s this morning and I didn’t want him to show up looking like a drowned rat, so I had to dig his “raincoat” out of the closet.

A couple of weeks ago when we were on our third deluge, I got tired of using two towels just to get him to the damp stage every time we came back from a walk. Two to three walks per day, times two towels, times a three-day storm…well, I’m not much at math but even I know that equals a lot more laundry than I want to deal with. Never mind that poor Owie would barely be dry by the time we were ready to go out again.

I asked at PetSmart whether they sold raincoats for dogs since we’d eventually need one for hiking anyway. They do sell them, but not until later in the spring.

Drat. It’s raining now, not later in the spring.

As I pondered the situation, a certain incident came to mind involving a Mount Katahdin hike, a rain shower, and a black trash bag giving birth to one of T’s friends (I’ll explain later).

Well, I thought, if we use them to keep out the rain when we’re hiking, why not for this?

Yep. I made my dog a raincoat out of a trash bag.

I slit one side of the bag, then cut a hole in the opposite corner for his head and slipped it over him with the side seam running straight down his back. I trimmed the sides so that they came to just below his chest.

Admittedly, he was a little leery about slipping the crinkly material over his head.

Do-It-Yourself Raincoat

What are we doing, Momma?

But, being the good dog that he is, he let me run with it. So far, so good, but now I needed something to hold it in place.

I took one of the trimmings from the sides and folded it to create a band. A little duct tape and we had a strap!

Raincoat Strap

Just call me Lady MacGyver.

But do you want to know the best part?

The best part is he wore it – for the whole walk. And it kept him nice and dry!

Except for his head and back legs, of course, but I don’t think I’ll push my luck by adding a hood or mud flaps. It keeps most of him covered the way it is:

Raincoat Side View

He did get a little scared at one point when the wind rustled the bag violently behind him, but he got over it pretty quickly. I think I just need to make another strap to hold the back down. I haven’t yet figured out where to position that strap, as I don’t want to hinder any of his…ahem…movements, but we’ll work on that.

It gets us by for now.

Our Raincoats

2 responses to “Do-It-Yourself Raincoat

  1. This is so adorable. I have to try it!

  2. That’s ingenious! he doesnt look so happy though!
    I dropped in here since I also need a hooded raincoat to make in a hurry.

Leave a Reply

