Military Spouse Friday Fill-In (#3)

Welcome to “Military Spouse Friday Fill-In” hosted by Wife of a Sailor.

This week’s questions are:

1. What is your favorite household chore?

I love to water my various plants, herb gardens and flowers. Give me an outside chore over an inside one any day.

2. What is your favorite childhood memory?

We had a great neighborhood for being a kid. We lolled in the grass checking clovers for honey and watching cloud shapes. We picked blueberries in the pine-baked fields, played “extreme badminton” in the day and flashlight tag at night. We drew with sidewalk chalk, organized capture the flag tournaments and rode bikes. I particularly liked the time one of my friends and I played “apple baseball” in her mom’s kitchen…but that might be a whole ‘nother blog post.

3. What is your most embarrassing moment?

Oh good grief, do I have to pick just one? Well, there was the time at my first job out of college when I unknowingly tucked my skirt into my underwear and strolled into the lobby. I don’t think I’ve worn a skirt to work since. Then there was the time when T and I were first dating and he took me to meet two of his very best friends: a lovely, sophisticated couple that he considers family. I was so nervous that upon our arrival I asked to use their bathroom – which was, of course, right off of the living room – with rather explosive-sounding results. Um, I think I still have nightmares about that one, so I’ll stop there.

4. What uniform of your spouse’s is your favorite?

ACUs. His dress blues are nice, too, for special occasions, but there is just something wanna-rip-‘em-off sexy about the ACUs.

5. What canceled TV show do you miss the most?

My favorite canceled TV show is M*A*S*H. I have all eleven seasons on DVD and I watch an episode or two while I’m eating dinner most nights. I did this before I even met T and I continue to do it now when he is at drill or deployed. The irony – besides that I like to watch a show about war while my husband is living in the middle of one – is that M*A*S*H strengthened my zeal for pacifism rather than making me want to have anything to do with the army. But life has a way of making you choke down your words and rethink your theories, so…here I am, married to my soldier and loving him more every day. The little turd.

4 responses to “Military Spouse Friday Fill-In (#3)

  1. LOL! You poor thing with your embarrassing stories! It’s reasons like this that whenever I wear a skirt and have to use the restroom I always check and triple check to make sure it’s not in my skirt!

  2. I’m so scared of tucking my skirt into my hoses, too! And life does have a way of making you eat your words. I had 2 rules for dating: 1. No doctors & 2. No military. Funny how I ended up with an Army doctor.

    • I know. I used to say (jokingly, I think) that I wanted to marry a baseball player because they make a lot of money and they are gone a lot. Well, I got the part about being gone a lot right, at least…but somehow it’s not all it’s cracked up to be.

Leave a Reply

