Friday Fill-In #4

Welcome to “Military Spouse Friday Fill-In” hosted by Wife of a Sailor.

This week’s questions are:

1. What food reminds you of your spouse?

Brussels sprouts. My husband was NOT big on vegetables and fruits when I met him, and though I haven’t yet penetrated his defenses around fruit, I have gotten him to try a fair amount of new veggies, including spinach, asparagus, Swiss chard and his current favorite, Brussels sprouts. Of all things. Half them, brown them in olive oil with garlic, salt and pepper them, then add a little bit of water and balsamic vinegar to finish steaming them. Yum!

2. Who would you rather sit next to in a cross-country plane ride: an irritating non-stop talker, or a quiet stare-er?

Oi. This is a tough one, but I think the quiet stare-er. I could probably escape that by reading, but I’d feel rude doing that to the talker. Then things could get ugly. I can give a hell of a dirty look, though, so most people don’t really talk to me.

3. What are your best tips on how to save money?

a. Comparison shop online before making big purchases.

b. Don’t nickel and dime yourself to death by falling for the “conveniences”: make a pot of coffee most days instead of stopping at Dunkie’s or Starbucks; buy larger quantities and divide instead of getting the pre-packaged servings; pack your lunch.

c. Buy store brand.

d. Take care of what you have. Because mass production has made everything so cheap in this country, we tend to replace instead of repair. This is not only costly, but wasteful.

4. What is your favorite summer memory?

The simple days: swimming all day in the neighbor’s pool, running for the ice cream man, going home to a family supper with tomato salad, fresh corn and other summer foods, then back for a campfire and puffy, toasted marshmallows.

5. Do you believe in ghosts?

I’m not sure, but I hope not. I do believe in “presences”, but I’d rather not think about those presences taking a visible form.

Thanks for stopping by!

3 responses to “Friday Fill-In #4

  1. all I have to say is you made me smile

  2. Brussell Sprouts? Seriously?

    Thanks for joining! Hope to see you next week!

  3. Great answers! And I totally agree with what you said about the quiet stare-er. I would feel too rude picking up a book to tune out the talker, although these days those talkers are my children.

    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

