Birthday Party x 3

At different times and through different venues, I met three different friends. These three friends, WB, M and Keith, met each other at T’s and my reception last September. It was there that I pointed out that their birthdays are, respectively, July 28th, 29th and 30th.

This year, they all turn 35. The old biddy of the bunch, I turned 35 a month ago. Please pass me my walker.

In honor of this cosmic event, this alignment of Leos, this natal hat trick, I suggested a get-together. Keith generously agreed to host the shindig at his family’s cabin-on-the-lake.

Allow me to introduce the cast of characters:

Leo #1, our lakeside philosopher and expert fisherman, WB.

WB

Leo #1

Leo #2, one of my besties since the day we met on the tire swing in 5th grade, M.

Loon

Leo #2?

Actually, that’s not M, but she did take the picture. I was told that the caveat to putting M in my blog was that I use only flattering photos. The problem with this is, M was our primary photographer, so she is in very few pictures. And the ones she is in…well, let’s blame it on poor lighting.

The truth is that M is very beautiful. Let’s borrow this photo from the reception, shall we?

M at our Reception

She is also very wacky. Here is one of my favorite pictures from the reception:

Suspenders 

Most of us were trying to get my dad, who has Parkinson’s disease, back into his wheelchair. I have no idea what M is doing. I do know that there are several instances during our long history together when she has made me laugh so hard that I peed my pants. Fortunately, this was not one of those times.

Also, her husband is very good looking:

C and Me 

Here is their son, Little L:

M's boy 

And finally, Leo #3, our host, Keith.

Keith and Owen

Leo #3

Oh yeah, and of course, Owen. Owen thoroughly enjoyed himself at The Cabin.

Cap'n Owen 

In fact, a great time was had by all.

 We fished.

On the Boat 

We frolicked.

Little L splashing 

We ate Leo cake.

Leos 3, 2 & 1 (and a Taurus)

Leos 3, 2 & 1 (and a Taurus)

I wanted to make the lion cake with a small growth on the side and call it “Leo cake with Cancer” so that I could have a share in it (I’m a Cancer). But I decided that was too gross.

 So, we just had a regular Leo cake.

 Leo cake

Happy birthday, to my pride of Leos! Hope 35 is the best year yet.

4 responses to “Birthday Party x 3

  1. Awwww. That is a super-cute cake! I’m glad you had a great time with your friends! :) Happy early birthday to them all! My sister’s is the 28th and soon, her baby girl will be here and will share the birthday with her!

  2. It looks like you guys had an amazing time! Thankfully, none of you threw out your hip or something. I here medical bills for old people can get expensive! =P

  3. Love it! Thanks for the flattering pictures, and including the whole fam. Thanks to all for a great time and entertaining the kid. He had a blast and a wonderful experience all around.

Leave a Reply

