A Fungus Among Us

About a week ago, I noticed three little mushrooms growing on the edge of our yard.

Three toadstools

How cute! I thought. Spotted red toadstools, just like Smurf houses!

I moved in for a closer look, hoping to see tiny blue humanoids scurrying about.

Toadstool close-up

Wait a minute! Those aren’t spots…

They’re…they’re…

BITE MARKS!

Slug bites

Ewwww!

Sorry.

I thought it was interesting in a creepy sort of way. I had no idea that slugs eat mushrooms (never having taken the time to think about it).

It reminded me of a hiking trip I took with T in 2008. It had been a very wet spring and the ground was absolutely saturated. I had never seen so many different types of mushrooms in my life.

We starting taking pictures of each new ‘shroom, then coming up with names for them. It helped pass the time on an otherwise soggy hike.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
One response to “A Fungus Among Us

  1. Those mushrooms were amazing! I didn’t know slugs ate mushrooms, either; I thought you were going to say your dogs were nibbling on them. My dogs try to eat the mushrooms in the yard. The names of your mushrooms is also probably one of the funniest things I’ve seen all week! Thanks for the morning laugh!!!

Leave a Reply

