Friday Fill-In #7

Welcome to another edition of “Military Spouse Friday Fill-In” hosted by Wife of a Sailor. It’s been so great learning about and finding other MilSpouses. If you haven’t been to Wifey’s site, go check it out!

This week’s questions are:

1. What is something you wished you’d learned to do earlier in life?

That’s a toss up between “ride a motorcycle” and “make friends”. I really haven’t learned to do either properly yet, but hopefully I still have time.

2. What is your biggest pet peeve with the military?

Gee…I think it might have something to do with how the military insists on coming first in my husband’s life while I get thrust through the backseat and into the trunk. Well, that was a very un-MilSpouse thing to say! But, at eight months into a second deployment, it was the first thing that came to my mind. The truth is the Army and I have a love/hate relationship.

3. What tourist attraction near you have you never seen?

The Moxie Festival. And I sooo want to go. Any other Moxie drinkers out there? I don’t usually drink soda, but I love me some Moxie. I think because my Nonno used to drink it, and I loved my Nonno. And I’m weird.

4. What are you avoiding doing right now?

Making my mom’s birthday cake. (Happy Birthday, Mom!) I love my mom, but I hate to bake. Actually, my mom does so much for others that I’m happy to be able to do this small thing for her…eventually. Besides, she requested a gingerbread cake with peaches and whipped cream, which sounds just delicious. I’m going to attempt to bake a gluten-free version, so I’m hoping I don’t royally frig it up.

5. Wine, beer or liquor?

My system is so ridiculously sensitive that I don’t drink much of anything anymore. I will say, though, that I enjoy a good Mai Tai with my Thai food and a nice glass of wine every now and again. Beer is just out of the question.

8 responses to “Friday Fill-In #7

  1. Now. Never be afraid of baking. That cake for your mom sounds delicious, though you know me, it wouldn’t be gluten-free. I think once T is home for good, your stomach will settle and you can drink like a fish.

    You may know who T’s mistress is….US Military, but you also know his true love….YOU!

  2. Oh my God! I can’t believe someone actually drinks Moxie. I tried some about 10 years ago and my tongue is still pissed at me for it. That’s too funny! Well, I hope you get to the festival and find more of ‘your kind’. Thanks for putting a smile on my face this morning!

  3. “Make friends” is something I’m still working on as well. My sister and I actually had this conversation yesterday because she told me to be more social at a party we’re going to tomorrow. The truth hurts sometimes, I guess :)

    • Unfortunately I generally have all the charm of a sucking chest wound in new social situations. I can’t decide if this is desperate self-preservation or if I’m truly a social moron. Probably a little of both.

  4. That cake sounds amazing! Good luck :)

  5. Oh man, I’m so nervous around motorcycles it’s ridiculous. I think they are cool to look at, but I’m too scared to get on one. My Dad and StepMom are way into riding, and every time my husband and I go home they try and try to get me on the bike. One day I’ll have the nerve, I hope!

Leave a Reply

