The Blog Hop

What is the Blog Hop?

The Blog Hop, hosted by Robin at Pensieve, was created as an at-home opportunity for bloggers to meet and greet during BlogHer’s annual conference.  Bloggers are invited to write a short introductory post about themselves and their blog to broaden their online community.  Intro posts are linked to the Blog Hop site and participants are encouraged to hop around and “meet” as many new friends as they’re able to!

Hello and welcome to Mowenackie! The name is strange, but so is the author, so it all works out.

Eight months ago, my husband deployed to Afghanistan. I was determined to get through this second deployment more gracefully than I did the first – when I was a whining, quivering, shivering mass of insecurity and misery.

I soul-searched for some ways to keep myself productive and happy. Writing, as always, bubbled to the top of my list. I have wanted to write for as long as I could read. I wrote and illustrated my first book at eight-years old. Then life got in the way and I had to get a job and eat and all of that boring grown-up stuff.

Fast-forward to the Age of the Blogosphere. The ‘Sphere is a place where I can post my writing and be held accountable for doing so consistently. And I can use it as another way to connect with my still-deployed husband, who makes up 50% of my loyal subscribers! (Thanks, baby!)

However. Being a military wife is way down on the list of terms I would use to describe myself. First and foremost, I’m me – a little crazy, a little OCD, a little bit funny and a whole lot over-analyzer.

Here I write about what I love – my husband, my pets, hiking – and the completely inane.

Thanks so much for stopping by! I hope you’ll join me in the quest to figure out this deliciously complicated thing we call…life.

And don’t forget to leave a comment so I can check out your blog!

11 responses to “The Blog Hop

  1. Nice to meet you! I hear you about the anxiety of deployment. Before we were married my husband did a tour in Iraq. Bless you and your hubby for doing it a 2nd time! I look forward to reading more of your blog, I too like to write as it can be very therapeutic. :)

  2. Cutest dog ever! I bet he is a ball of energy!

    Blogging is therapeutic to me, too! Isn’t it nice to be able to have your own space to go and just write?? (I’m such a nerd, aren’t I?)

  3. Just a loyal subscriber checking in! LOL! =)

  4. Stopping by from the blog hop. I’m a former Army spouse. My husband has been out now for almost 3 years. I feel a connection to military wives. I started my blog when my husband was deployed to Iraq. It’s great to “meet” you.

    Here’s my blog hop post: This Blog O’ Mine

    And, if you are around today, today’s the last day of a giveaway I’m having for a $25 Target gift card. All you have to do is comment: It’s My Party and I’ll Buy If I Want To

  5. I hopped over from the bloghop also. I’m an Air Force spouse and my husband will deploy through the holidays to somewhere over there. I look forward to reading more about you! Nice to “meet” you!

  6. I’m visiting and following from Blog Hop 10 and can’t wait to read more of your posts. Isn’t blogging great therapy?

    Lucy’s Human
    http://lucyshuman.blogspot.com/

  7. Thanks for dropping by my blog! I grew up a hop and a skip away from Fort Drum, and I’ve always had so much admiration for military wives – especially those who, like you, can define themselves by something besides just the military! It’s very nice to meet you, and my thanks to you and your husband for all you sacrifice for this country.

  8. Yay! What a great intro! I already love your blog but am sadly sporadic since I only get your posts in my email inbox. Have you thought about setting up an RSS feed for your site??

  9. Cute dog! Just Hoppin by,
    Im #255 on the BLOG HOP, I hope you get a chance to visit me.

  10. Blog hopping… off to another one of your posts. :)

Leave a Reply

