Friday Fill-In #8

Welcome to another edition of “Military Spouse Friday Fill-In” hosted by Wife of a Sailor. It’s been so great finding and learning about other MilSpouses. If you haven’t yet been to Wifey’s site, go check it out!

This week’s questions are:

1. What is ONE thing you’d like civilians to understand about being a military family?

I wish people understood how lonely deployment actually is for those of us on this end of it. I have had many well-meaning people say, “If you ever need to talk, just give me call.” Almost no one has said, “Would you like to have a cup of tea on Thursday night?” There is a big difference. The first asks me to admit that I need something. The second says, “I value your company, so let’s get together.” Most military wives are very proud and I’m no exception. I’d rather sit in my house and rot until my skeletal fingers are found clutched around this mouse with my empty sockets staring at a still-humming computer screen, then ask for something from someone I think is reluctant to give it.

2. What is your favorite mistake?

Keeping my first date with my husband. Three days after I met him, we made a date for lunch. That same night I found out he was deploying to Iraq in a couple of months. The smart thing to do would have been to say, give me a call when you get back…but I didn’t.

3. What indulgence could you give up for a year?

My husband. But only because I have to.

4. If you could be a winged animal, what would you be?

A dragonfly. I think they are beautiful and graceful and I’d love to skim over the surface of a lake, feeling the wind rush past. Provided a fish didn’t gobble me up, that is.

5. What is one question you’d like to see asked in a future MFF?

Where are you currently located? That sounds creepy and stalkerish, but I don’t want to know specifics. Just curious if anyone is in my general area (New England). It seems like most of you all are located south of DC or west of Chicago (or overseas). Guess that’s because I’m a Guard wife, and not on post?

8 responses to “Friday Fill-In #8

  1. Oooh dragonfly, good answer! And I’m in Georgia :)

  2. SO true to number one! I wish more of my friends would just show up and FORCE me out of the house rather then just call to “check in”. Of course I am going to say I am fine, I don’t want to bother them and make them go out of their way for me :)

  3. I totally agree with #1! And as for where I am, I’m currently in WA but I grew up in New England and will be back for a few months around the holidays.

  4. Good answer… I have actually started inviting people over… i keep my house clean and get company and my little man has friends to play with too.

  5. Oh, #1 is right on the money. So many people have told me to “call if you need anything”. I know most of them are praying I’ve lost their phone number. I’m hoping I never utter those words.

  6. You hit the nail on the head with number one! For once I wish someone would actually invite me over or out somewhere when they know that my husband is gone and that I am lonely! I mean, I have my daughter but, ther is only so much I can say to a 2 year old and she sure as heck probably gets tired of being with me all the time! LOL!

    Thanks for stopping by today!

  7. I love dragonflies!!! They are beautiful and have this crazy process of growing and coming to be. Great choice!

    And number one is awesome! They need to ask us to do stuff…we don’t want to seem desperate and beg people to hang out with us!

  8. I agree with everyone, #1 is so true! I sit here so lonely night after night and when friends ask how Im doing, Id rather cut off my arm then tell them how lonely I am. I would be so nice for someone to actually get me out of the house. This does happen, just not often enough during those long deployments.

Leave a Reply

