Friday Fill-In #10

Welcome to another edition of “Military Spouse Friday Fill-In” hosted by Wife of a Sailor. It’s been so great learning about and finding other MilSpouses. If you haven’t been to Wifey’s site, go check it out!

This week’s questions are from other MilSpouses around the blogosphere, so be sure to drop by their neighborhoods and say hello.

And the questions are:

1. What secret indulgence do you act on while your spouse is away? (from Devil Dog Darling)

Does an almost complete disregard for personal hygiene count as an indulgence?

As I’m writing this, it’s 11:11pm on Thursday and I have not yet brushed my teeth. I haven’t showered in several days and shaving is a mere memory. Actually, I prefer to think of it as “sympathy hygiene”. Though even in Afghanistan, my husband probably showers more often that I do.

I consider it an “indulgence” because, not only am I reveling in it, like a pig in mud, but it is completely out of character for me. But then, deployment does sometimes have a strange effect on me.

2. If you were a spice, what would you be? (from New Girl On Post)

Old Spice. No, Scary Spice! You know, because of the really bad breath? It’s scary!

Okay, okay. I’d probably be ginger: sharp, but, in the right mix, not unpleasant.

3. Where do you go for support when your significant other is deployed? (from Texas Meets Washington)

  • My friend K has shared two deployments with me now and she knows where it’s at. It makes such a huge difference to have even one person around that understands how alienating an experience deployment can be.
  • My husband. ‘Nuff said.
  • My mom tries like crazy to help me with anything I need, deployment-related or not.
  • Fellow bloggers. Your wonderful posts help me realize I’m not as crazy as I sometimes worry I am. Thanks!

4. What is the oldest thing you own? (from A Troop’s Girl)

My husband. (Just kidding, baby! Love you!)

Much of my furniture belonged to my grandparents and I think I also have my great-grandmother’s wedding dishes.

5. How did you vision your future pre-military? (from Daddy’s Duty)

At one point I thought I would be the crazy cat lady – single, but an amazing middle school teacher whose students kept her cutting-edge hip and young in spirit, if not in hair color.

‘Kay, I’m going to go brush my teeth now. Happy Friday, everyone!

7 responses to “Friday Fill-In #10

  1. Ha! I love your answer for #4. OccDoc is 6 and a half years older than me and I never pass up the opportunity to remind him of this fact. And personal hygiene isn’t too high on my list, etiher. All the hair I had lasered is still there (it takes 10 – 14 days to fall out), but it’s all burned and curled up. A great look. Sorry that was way TMI for ya. ;)

  2. LOL… the crazy cat lady hip teacher you wanted to be sounds just like my government teacher in high school!

  3. Almost answered no. 4 with hubby as well, but I didn’t want him to read it :) He is ancient since I was like 4 when we got married, he will always be old… ;0)

    Now I am motivated to go brush my teeth. Right after I finish off this bag of dark chocolate…

  4. I forgo the hygiene sometimes too. Right now, my hair looks like it hasn’t been brushed…EVER and I haven’t brushed my teeth yet…AND I’m not wearing any clothes since I only got up an hour ago! I should’ve put SLEEPING IN as one of my indulgences. LOL.

    And wouldn’t you know, the only times I get Skype calls are right after I’ve woken up and my hair looks like a rat’s nest! So much for looking pretty when he calls…*sigh*

  5. My husband says it is his job to keep me from being the crazy cat lady. I can relate and agree with your #5. And being that I was a middle school teacher when I met DH I had part down!

  6. I LOVE how you phrased your hygeine, or lack there of. I as well revel in not showering or shaving! I have no excuse other than he’s not here, so there’s nobody to impress.

  7. Yikes! I hope you got those teeth brushed woman! LOL! I’m crazy about showers and brushing my teeth. I have to brush at least twice daily and when The Hubble is deployed I tend to take a couple showers a day. Maybe I take one for me and one for him?? LOL!!!!

    And by the way…ground ginger is my ultimate favorite spice EVER! See…we were meant to be!! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

