(Junk) Mail Call

I had fully intended for my next post to be Part II of Keeping a Connection, but I found today’s mail so entertaining that I was inspired to share.

Generally the junk mail goes directly into the recycle bin without a second – and sometimes first – glance, but today I was leafing idly through the small stack while talking on the phone to T.

I know, I’m a bad wife. I wasn’t giving him my undivided attention. But then, he didn’t really have much to say. He was up late last night and was a little spacey from lack of sleep. And he kept yawning in my ear.

So, fair’s fair.

Here is the first piece that tickled me:

Don't Delay

Okay, okay! I won’t send you money, right away!

Next up:

Earn Rewards

Ooo! Get Rewards when you buy $50 of products! I had to crop the page, so you can’t see everything on it, but trust me when I say that there is only about $60 worth of merchandise there. What are the chances that someone is going to need each of these products at the same time?

Then we have:

Flu Shot

Is this really a draw? I’m not a shopper, nor have I ever had a flu shot, so it may very well be and I’m just not aware. (It certainly wouldn’t be the first time.)

But basically, unless you have really, really bad heartburn, you’re going to end up with a whole lot of diapers, laundry detergent or TP in exchange for your flu shot.

I’d love to see the analytics on that ad.

And last, but certainly not least…my favorite:

Gun Coupon

You can file that one under “only in Maine”.

I love this state.

5 responses to “(Junk) Mail Call

  1. That is too funny, I’m slightly jealous that your junk mail is English. Since I took OccDoc’s last name all my junk mail now suddenly in Spanish (neither of us speak Spanish). 10% off of firearms – they have way better sales in Texas. I try to give OccDoc my undivided attention but I learned the art of silent key strokes when I was a consultant, so sometimes I email on the phone with him…oops!

  2. As you can imagine…my husband thought the 10% off non-sale firearm was an awesome coupon.

  3. Hehe! Yes, I can appreciate the “only in Maine” comment, given my relative proximity to you!

  4. Haha! Aww this makes me miss Maine and all it’s glory. My husband and I still giggle at the amount of people who would wear PJ pants and LLBean boots to the grocery store! Too much!

  5. Hahahahaha!!! That’s hilarious! Thanks for sharing!!!!!

Leave a Reply

