Friday Fill-In #11

Welcome to another edition of “Military Spouse Friday Fill-In” hosted by Wife of a Sailor. It’s been so great learning about and finding other MilSpouses. If you haven’t been to Wifey’s site, go check it out!

This week’s questions are from other MilSpouses around the blogosphere, so be sure to drop by their neighborhoods and say hello.

And the questions are:

1. What is a weird/funny superstition that you have? (from A{muse}ing Mommy on a Pink Park Bench)

Have you ever seen the movie “As Good As It Gets” with Jack Nicholson? That’s me. I don’t step on cracks on the sidewalk or pavement. Not because I think I’ll break my mother’s back – though it all stemmed from that back in grade school – but because it offends my sense of order.

I also have about eighty thousand “superstitions” that I follow during deployment, such as, “If I don’t take off his dog tags, he’ll be fine.” Like that. That stems from trying frantically to control something over which I have absolutely no control.

2. What are your hopes and dreams for the years AFTER the military? After all, we aren’t in it forever! (from Stetsons, Spurs and Stilettos)

T and I will own an RV and travel all over the United States and Canada and live happily ever after.

3. Since [this] month is National Apple Month (no really!), I’d probably ask: What is your yummiest apple recipe? (from NH Girl Displaced)

I love to make homemade applesauce in the fall. It is so delicious with fresh-off-the-tree apples and I use just a bit of agave (and lots of cinnamon) to sweeten it. Great with cottage cheese (when I used to eat dairy) or on toast (when I used to eat gluten), but it is heavenly just by itself (how I eat it now).

4. How long have you gone as a military spouse without talking to your husband/wife during service? (from A Navy Princess and Her Little Sailors)

Geez, I feel guilty answering this. I think the longest was a week and a half and that was back when we first met. It was before T and I had cell phones…and it’s the reason we got cell phones.

5. I occasionally watch When I was 17… on MTV. So, what was something that was significant about your 17th year of life? (from Ashley Amazing)

That was eighteen years ago and since I can barely remember what I had for breakfast, I’m going to go with the obvious: I graduated from high school.

Have a safe and fun Labor Day weekend, everyone!

5 responses to “Friday Fill-In #11

  1. I love homemade apple sauce too! It makes the house smell so good as it cooks and just says “Fall.” I like the RV idea too, there are so many amazing places to explore in the U.S.!

  2. Are you guys going to travel with your dogs in the RV? That’s too cute to imagine. My great aunt and uncle did that with their dog, Bandit. They were as happy as clams traveling around in their RV with Bandit in the copilot’s seat!

  3. I wish I had the patience for RV travel….I just imagine those close quarters would be terrible for my marriage. LOL….

  4. Oh yes, I love the RV idea too! I can just see T driving in his St Patrick’s Day (sun)glasses while you cook dinner with green mashed potatoes. Or the other way round…..or maybe not. LOL! I like your avoiding-the-pavement-cracks too, I often do that. I count stairs as I climb them too. I’m so horribly OCD sometimes.

  5. LOL!!! Your superstitions sound EXACTLY like me. I won’t step on grates or manhole covers either.

    I do the dogtag thing too. Too cute!

    I want an RV and an open road as well!!!

    We’re like twins! ;-p

Leave a Reply

