Friday Fill-In #14

Welcome to another edition of “Military Spouse Friday Fill-In” hosted by Wife of a Sailor. It’s been so great learning about and finding other MilSpouses. If you haven’t been to Wifey’s site, go check it out!

This week’s questions are from other MilSpouses around the blogosphere, so be sure to drop by their neighborhoods and say hello.

And the questions are:

1. What characteristic about yourself has either been strengthened or weakened due to your experience as a Military Spouse? (from The Albrecht Squad)

My sanity has been weakened. I’m at a point in this deployment where I feel like I’m clinging by a thread most days. But that’s not really a characteristic. Let’s see…I’ve become both more and less patient. And I’ve become both more and less accepting.

2. What is your favorite vacation spot and why? (from ‘Tis the Life of the Army Wife)

Maui, Hawaii. When T got back from Iraq, it was March in Maine. Dreary, brown, damp, cold March. He’d been in dreary, brown, dry, hot Bagdad for a year. “I want to see green and blue,” he told me. So we went to Hawaii. Maui felt like a second home to me. I had tears in my eyes when we boarded the plane to leave.

Maui

3. If you could have any fast-food restaurant in the food court on base/post what would you pick? (from The Only Pink in a House of Blue)

I don’t live on post and I don’t eat fast food. If I had to pick something, though, I’d pick Subway. You can get a decent salad there.

4. Where did you go on your honeymoon?  (from Pennies from Heaven)

Maui, Hawaii. We loved it so much that when we got married two years later, we went right back. Part of me felt we should see someplace new, but most of me just wanted to be on the island again. Warm, friendly, sunny, rainbow-y, wonderful Maui. Did I mention I love Maui?

5. If you could have any job in the world regardless of money, degree or experience, which job would you have and why? (from Proud to Be a Navy Family and The Calm Before The Storm)

I’d like to be a novelist. Except I suck at writing fiction.

2 responses to “Friday Fill-In #14

  1. “My sanity has been weakened”- I can completely understand that! Hang in there. I hope this deployment starts going by quickly for ya.

  2. I love your answer to the first question! “I’ve become both more and less patient. And I’ve become both more and less accepting.” It explains it perfectly.

Leave a Reply

