The Fourth Judge: Week 4

This week was “acoustic week”, so all musical selections were…uh…acoustic. Go figure. It really worked well with the Argentine tango and it wasn’t too shabby for the rumba either.

Also different was the ballroom floor. In place of the old rectangular floor, that went right up to the judges stand on one side and the audience on the other, was a small, raised circular floor. It put the dancers’ feet at eye level and a botched lift in the first row (which didn’t happen, but it could’ve gotten all WWF).

And finally, each couple got two sets of scores: one for technique and one for performance.

Kurt Warner/Anna Trebunskaya

I think that Kurt Warner has improved more in the last four weeks than anyone else in the competition. I barely remembered his dancing during the first two weeks, yet now I watch him with interest. His rumba was surprisingly good, especially considering his NFL-sized body. He actually had hip action, which doesn’t happen too often with the guys in general and professional athletes in particular (with the possible exception of Apolo Anton Ohno…rawr). It was a little too stop-and-go for a rumba, but over all, better than the judges scores reflect. But what do they know?

Technical: 15/30 – Performance: 19/30 – Total: 34/60

Brandy/Maksim Chmerkovskiy

Brandy performed a beautiful rumba with Maks. Her technique was sound, but it was her intense movements along with her lovely facial expressions that really made the dance. She needs to extend her movements a little more but I think she’s becoming, as Len would say, a contender.

Technical: 22/30 – Performance: 26/30 – Total: 48/60

Rick Fox/Cheryl Burke

Much as that mustache was not Rick’s best look, the Argentine tango was not his best dance. He was much too gentlemanly. I wanted to see some aggression, some intensity, some passion. I didn’t think it was horrible, but it was a bit of a letdown. Hey, they can’t all be gems.

Technical: 19/30 – Performance: 20/30 – Total: 39/60

Kyle Masse/Lacey Schwimmer

Kyle’s posture really has to change. His hunch is sort of turning into a leer, which is rather inappropriate for the rumba. Still, his charisma carried the dance and he does move well. He just seems to have hit a plateau. I want to see some improvement! Take a page out of Kurt’s book, Kyle.

Technical: 18/30 – Performance: 22/30 – Total: 40/60

Mike Sorrentino/Karina Smirnoff

Oi. Karina, to compensate for Mike’s lack of skill, went for the “wow” factor by putting a ton of lifts into their Argentine tango. Unfortunately, she overcompensated. The routine was basically a series of acrobatics with Mike simply walking from lift station to lift station. Horrible. Just horrible. He got three well-deserved fours for technique and was irritated because the judges didn’t recognize all the hard work he put in. Yes, he did work hard. Too bad it wasn’t on dancing.

Technical: 12/30 – Performance: 16/30 – Total: 28/60

Florence Henderson/Corky Ballas

Florence, too, has hit a plateau. I’m not seeing any great strides in her dancing, but you do have to give her and Corky credit for the geriatric raunchiness of their rumba. It was quite entertaining. I just wish older women would leave their faces alone and not Botox them into stiff, expressionless masks. Why, why is getting older considered to be such a misfortune in this country? It sure beats the alternative. The next old person I see on DWTS darn well better have some wrinkles.

Technical: 17/30 – Performance: 18/30 – Total: 35/60

Jennifer Grey/Derek Hough

Amazing. Fantastic. Wonderful. Jennifer and Derek were perfectly matched in their Argentine tango. It was sharp. It was precise. It was haughty. And it earned the first 10 of the season (two of them, actually). I was awed as I watched just how in sync their legs were throughout. Bravissimo! (Oops, I’m mixing my cultures there.)

Technical: 27/30 – Performance: 29/30 – Total: 56/60

Bristol Palin/Mark Ballas

The usual. Bristol’s rumba had flashes of character and once or twice it even seemed like she was enjoying herself, but for the most part it looked like she was taking a test she had studied really hard for. She dances well, but without emotion.

Technical: 18/30 – Performance: 14/30 – Total: 32/60

Audrina Patridge/Tony Dovolani

The music that Audrina and Tony had for their dance was way too fast for an Argentine tango. It didn’t really lend itself to drama and that worked against them. Tony choreographed a nice routine and Audrina danced it well, but it was still a tad lacking. But at least it wasn’t about widows. And I loved her hair. Gorgeous!

Technical: 24/30 – Performance: 22/30 – Total: 46/60

My pick to go home this week: The Situation

Who actually went home: The Situation

Wow. I’m three for four. What’s up this season? Usually I couldn’t predict the weather if I looked out the window.

3 responses to “The Fourth Judge: Week 4

  1. Yay!!! I’m so glad The Situation went home! Woohoo!

    I am so annoyed by Brandy. I don’t know what it is but she bugs the heck out of me!

    I love, love, LOVED Jennifer and Derek. I had trouble remembering which one was the pro in that dance. They did so well!

  2. I still have not seen one episode this season!

  3. Omg I just realized that Bristol Palin is in this season?! How did I not realize that till today?

    But beside that… I GOT MY PACKAGE!!! Thank you SO much! Everything was absolutely wonderful. I think we were the perfect match :-)

Leave a Reply

