The Fourth Judge: Week 6

Welcome to the recap of Week 6: Rock Week!

This week, each DWTS couple had to dance a tango or a paso doble to a rock song, giving them their out-of-30 score. Then, the points received according to their ranking in the dance marathon were added to the total score. The marathon consisted of four minutes of moves from the jive, swing and Lindy hop. If a couple got tapped, they were out. First out received four points and last on the floor received 10.

Audrina Patridge/Tony Dovolani (24/30 +8)

I read once that the silence between the notes is what makes the music. It’s the same with dance: it’s the space in between the steps that creates the flow. Audrina continues to have no concept of these pauses and it makes for jerky and emotionless dancing. She executed the steps of her paso doble wonderfully, but in between she was just waiting for the next step to begin, much as one might wait for the uptown bus on a Monday. The judges jumped on her and Len said that Audrina was starting to get on his nerves. It is frustrating to see so much good technique wasted.

Kyle Masse/Lacey Schwimmer (23/30 +7)

The judges and audience both liked Kyle and Lacey’s tango, but I didn’t. I thought it was boring, but that, I suspect, is more due to the song and the choreography than Kyle’s actual dancing. The song was much too fast for a tango and Lacey’s routine didn’t seem to have a whole lot of content in it. Maybe I’m just a traditionalist. I have seemed to be in sync with Len a lot lately…

Jennifer Grey/Derek Hough (20/30 +9)

Yikes. Jennifer continues to get worse. What happened? She was so amazing. Her paso doble was on the wild side, and by “wild,” I mean, “out of control”. It didn’t have anywhere near the polish of her earlier routines and she and Derek both stumbled at the end. Derek took responsibility for making the choreography too difficult and Jennifer keeps lamenting how tired she is. I suppose it could be either, but I’m still disappointed to see the show’s only real dancer this season in a downward spiral.

Rick Fox/Cheryl Burke (24/30 +6)

Hm. Again, the judges and audience both liked Rick and Cheryl’s tango, but again, I didn’t. Maybe I just had my cranky pants on this week. I thought it was okay, but I still don’t see a real connection between the partners. Rick’s carriage is too stiff and he doesn’t seem to be driving the dance. More like walking through it. A man might be able to get away without leading in some of the other dances, but not the tango. The tango is forceful and aggressive. At least, I think it is. I wasn’t seeing it this week.

Bristol Palin/Mark Ballas (23/30 +5)

I think I might have figured out why Bristol hasn’t been able to bring the performance element to her dances. She doesn’t seem to know what performance is. Performance is not some campy tricks, like wearing a chimp suit or playing an air guitar. It’s an attitude that connects you to the dance, your partner and the audience. I have to give her credit for trying, but she and Mark are really going to have to bring it next week or they’re going to be in serious trouble. Their tango was passable, but we’re past the halfway point and passable isn’t good enough anymore. And, if you’re going to throw in some air guitar, please try to hit it during the song’s guitar solo – not five seconds before. Because playing the air guitar when there are no guitar sounds…well, it doesn’t really work.

Kurt Warner/Anna Trebunskaya (18/30 +4)

And, to continue with the theme of disagreeing with everyone this week, I liked Kurt and Anna’s paso doble. The judges didn’t. I can see why they wouldn’t – Kurt’s dancing wasn’t great. It was awkward the movements weren’t quite right (Bruno said it looked like Kurt was doing karate instead of a Spanish dance). But! He did get the character right, which was refreshing, and I liked the choreography a lot.

Brandy/Maksim Chmerkovskiy (26/30 +26)

Brandy and Maks did a crowd-pleasing tango and I hate to sound like a broken record, but I thought it was mediocre. Brandy’s movements weren’t sharp enough for the tango, her kicks weren’t high enough and she stumbled. Yet Len called it the dance of the night, Bruno raved incomprehensibly and Carrie Ann thought Brandy “found her wings”. Eh. Guess I’m an old curmudgeon, but if this is the best we got, then the dancing this season just isn’t the same caliber of seasons past.

My pick to go home this week: It has to be between Audrina, Bristol and Kurt, but I’m going to go with…Audrina Patridge.

Who actually went home: Audrina Patridge

One response to “The Fourth Judge: Week 6

  1. One of these days I’m actually going to watch this program! Love the “chimp suit comment” about Bristol Palin – I can’t believe she hasn’t been evicted yet!

Leave a Reply

