Friday Fill-In #19

Welcome to another edition of “Military Spouse Friday Fill-In” hosted by Wife of a Sailor. It’s been so great learning about and finding other MilSpouses. If you haven’t been to Wifey’s site, go check it out!

And the questions are:

1. What’s the nicest thing a stranger has ever done for you?

A man once held the door for me so that I could get in line ahead of him…at the DMV. I was so stunned by that. Thank you, Nice Man!

2. If you are having a hard time going to sleep, what do you do to help yourself?

I almost never have a hard time going to sleep. Once my head hits the pillow, I’m out. I compare myself to a three-year old: I go hard all day, then I crash hard at night. Now, staying asleep…that’s something different, especially during deployment. (Hello, Anxiety, my old friend.)

3. Name something that makes you wish you were a kid again.

Time. I miss having time to enjoy the small things in life. I feel like I’m on the go 18 hours out of every 24 and I miss being able to go pick apples, carve a pumpkin, decorate the house, hang out with friends…and just have fun.

4. What is something you never believed until you experienced it?

Falling in love. It sounds campy, but I had never fallen in love before I met T. I had learned to love a couple of the guys I dated…after a time…but it’s not the same thing.

5. What can’t you say “no” to?

Are you kidding me? No is one of my best words. I say it all the time. I used to be unable to say no to family events. I come from a large Italian Catholic family and, despite the fact that most of them live two states away, we have always gotten together for every Thanksgiving, Easter, wedding, baby shower, Arbor Day, whatever. During this deployment, however, I have learned to say “no” to a few of those, purely out of self-preservation. It’s just too hard to go to all of those blissful life events without T around. So I don’t.

Have a great Friday!

5 responses to “Friday Fill-In #19

  1. I wish I could have learned to say no over the deployment. There were so many things I went to and was so miserable seeing the happy couples sharing the time together. I am so glad there were no weddings during the deployment.

  2. YAY for something good coming from deployment! Hopefully it can carry over when he gets back:) There were a couple of wedding while DH was deployed & on duty…I hate going to them alone!

  3. I know exactly what you mean about never believing in falling in love until it actually happened to you. I never believed I’d ever find anyone half decent again, let alone someone I’d fall in love with. And it’s so great that you say no so often. Everyone should take a leaf out of your book!

  4. Haha that really is a big deal for someone to let you get in front of them at the DMV!!! You go girl! :)

  5. I only WISH I could fall asleep like that!

Leave a Reply

