The Eagle Has Landed

For the first time in over six months, my husband and I are in the same country! The Eagle (aka: T) landed in the United States this evening, after another minor delay or two.

Were he active duty, we would probably be reuniting at this very moment. The Guard, however, has to go through the demobilization process first so it will be another few days before he and I are in the same state.

Still, when he called me from the airport, I was over-the-Moon excited. It’s moments like this that make up for the last pale, washed-out year. My heart is beginning to beat again, and it feels good. Really good.

It’s snowing tonight and there is a peace and beauty about it that seems connected to the day’s events – as if two gifts came at once, and both from the same Giver.

snow and lights

The snowflakes glittering on my porch railing are starry and perfect.

snowflakes

And my heart is thankful.

12 responses to “The Eagle Has Landed

  1. Woohoo! Welcome home T!!! I’m so excited for you both – I can only imagine how excited you were to get that phone call when he finally landed – suddenly it was real :-) We’ll look forward to the next updates! It must be glorious to at least be able to speak to each other in the same time zone.

  2. YAY for being in the same country! Hope you two are reunited soon.

  3. Woo-hoo! So glad he’s back stateside, and those pictures are beautiful.

  4. Annoyed Army Wife

    Yay! I’m so happy for you both!! I hope the time between now and your reunion flies by!

  5. Aaaaaw yay!!!!! Those are pretty pics too!!

  6. That must be a wonderful feeling. Thank you for your family’s service.

  7. Cheers to you and T! Best wishes for a wonderful reunion this holiday season.

  8. Hurray, HUrray, HURray, HURRay, HURRAy, HURRAY!!!!!!

  9. Woo hooo! So excited for you! Enjoy each other and your time together!!

  10. I am dancing around my living room for you! WOOHOO!!

  11. Hooray!!!! I’m so glad he’s back. I hope your absence for the last few days means that he is back in your arms. I’m so excited for you honey! Enjoy each other!!!

  12. Congratulations! It’s nice that it’s marked so beautifully by the weather. Enjoy each other!

Leave a Reply

