Worth the Pain

No, I’m not talking about deployment.

That’s another topic for another post, one that will probably never be written because I have yet to decide whether or not deployment is indeed worth the pain.

Exponential growth versus exponential suffering.

Hmm. Yeah, not a call I’m ready to make.

No, I’m talking about dancing. Tonight, after a year-long hiatus (and then some), T and I started ballroom dance lessons. Again.

We had been taking lessons for about a year before he left. Enter Deployment.

“Would you like to put your life on hold for a year?” he asked.

“Sure, why not!” I replied.

Okay, maybe that was paraphrasing.

Probably the real conversation went more like this:

Deployment: Put your life on hold for a year. Now.

Me: Go suck an egg, you jack wagon.

Anyway. What was I saying? Oh yeah. Dance lessons.

I was nervous about getting back into it. Would we remember anything? Would the Advanced Beginner class be too advanced for us?

Turns out the only thing I need have worried about was this:

blister

That’s what an hour of samba looks like on an uncalloused foot. I guess I need to break my feet back in. But I’m totally willing – even happy – to live with the pain because I’m finally dancing again!

I love our class already. Though we are probably the youngest couple by at least ten years, everyone was uber-friendly.

Considering how well tonight went, I’m thinking we’re just a botafogo away from going pro!

4 responses to “Worth the Pain

  1. Yeah. Back to normal stuff now.

  2. Ouch! But that’s awesome you guys are picking up with the dance lessons right where you left off (or a little behind). Kudos! OccDoc wants to drag me and my two left feet back to our swing dancing lessons when he gets back. He’s a phenomenal dancer, me, not so much.

  3. Woohoo! That sounds like so much fun. I’ve wanted to take dance lessons with The Hubble for years! But he’s just too dang busy all the time. Maybe in our retirement…

  4. Awesome! I was hoping you guys would get back into the dancing again, it sounded like you both loved it pre-deployment. Hope the toe has recovered now too though!

Leave a Reply

