Down Dog

**NEW! I’ve added a survey section to Mowenackie called, “Tell Me”. You’ll find the current poll question in the righthand sidebar. Won’t you “Tell Me” more about you? Thanks!**

I love yoga.

My father got me into it about 12 years ago, before it was all the rage. He used to love to brag that he, a Parkinsonian, could do the full lotus pose…until he threw his back out doing it one day and had to have surgery. Still, I thought it was so cool that he was a part-time yogi and I wanted to be one, too.

It has served me well.

I’m a desk jockey, so in addition to the muscle atrophy of my Graves disease, my posture is also fighting the 10-hour-a-day-sit syndrome. It’s new. Maybe you’ve heard of it?

Doing yoga stretches me back out and helps me feel like a human being again. It gives me the ultimate body buzz. It derails the speed train that is my mind; it helps me think again. Rationally, I mean.

Did I mention that I love yoga?

Not that anyone asked, but if they did, I would highly recommend trying it (if you haven’t already). You can do it right in the privacy of your own home – another reason to love it! – and you don’t need any equipment. A yoga mat helps prevent sliding, but it’s not really necessary.

All set? Okay. Owen has agreed to demonstrate the aptly named “down dog” position:

Down Dog

See? It’s easy!

Okay, seriously – if you are looking for a place to start, here’s one of my favorite DVDs:

10-Minute Yoga

It’s broken up into 10-minute segments and you can mix and match as many or as few as you’d like, depending on your time, fitness and motivation for that day.

So how about you? Do you do yoga?

4 responses to “Down Dog

  1. I haven’t done yoga in a long time, but I used to love it! I took it for two whole years when I was in undergrad. It was first thing in the morning and it was such an awesome way to start off my day. Maybe I’ll look into starting some classes again here…

  2. Okay….had to come to work just to see the pic? Of course, that is how I do down dog, just like Owen. The problem is, he probably gets up a lot quicker than I do.

  3. Yes! I love yoga! I don’t do it often enough though. I’ll have to check out this DVD.

  4. How nice of Owen to play yoga model! I’ve often wondered about yoga, but never done it. I think it’d also be good for me as a kind of intermediate form of “almost” meditation! I have trouble keeping still for long periods, as well as closing my mind off, so I’ve always felt I’d never be able to stick with yoga for those reasons – but by the same token, those issues would probably be helped by yoga if I could just get going!

Leave a Reply

