Are You In the Fight?

My father has lived with Parkinson’s disease for more than 30 years now. Over time he’s had to give up his job, then his driver’s license. He’s gotten countless skinned knees from falling in parking lots or in the grocery store. He’s endured discomfort, strange looks and severe tremors. Now much of his time is spent in a wheelchair.

Yet, when the doctor asked whether he uses any implements to help him with day-to-day tasks he held up a shaking hand and quipped, “Well, yes. I eat rice with an umbrella.”

I love my dad with my whole heart and I feel helpless watching him struggle. My mother, too, has had a long road. I try to be there for them, but there is a limit to how much I can help.

So I do what I can, and what I can do is pass this on:

April is Parkinson’s awareness month. In an effort to spread the word, Ryan Reynolds has pledged to donate $10,000 to the Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research if their Facebook page reached 100,000 “likes” by the end of the month.

As I type this, they’re at 32,082. There are two days left in April.

Well, I’m coming in on the tail end of things, but I still want to do my part and I’m hoping you’ll join me. If you’re on Facebook, please take a minute to hop over to the MJFF page and click the “Like” button. It only takes a second but it would mean so much.

The MJFF does great things. Besides researching a cure, they also educate and create communities for those affected by PD. Most importantly, they provide hope for those living with the disease.

For me, having a part in this makes me feel just a little less helpless. And that’s huge.

Please pass this on.

I’m in. Are you?

5 responses to “Are You In the Fight?

  1. I know I’m late to this but I “liked” the page anyway. I like your cute little video too. ;-)

Leave a Reply

