Back in the Saddle

Howdy, Buckaroos! I’m back in the saddle for Day Two of The Sugar Free Challenge. Hey, that first part rhymed, kinda. I’m a poet and you didn’t even know it. Probably you still don’t, but that’s neither here nor there.

What is here is that I have successfully completed Day Two with no sugar. Here’s how it went down:

Breakfast was not my new (and vastly improved) all-time favorite, but it was delicious nonetheless. I had a veggie and goat cheddar omelet with red grapes, green tea and diluted pomegranate/orange juice.

Day Two - breakfast

Don’t ask me why, but I can’t take my vitamins with water first thing in the morning. I have to have juice, but juice is so “carby” that I use just enough to taste and dilute it with water. Very strange since I drink only water throughout the rest of the day.

What veggies are in the omelet? I knew you were wondering. Yellow peppers, scallions, spinach and jalapeno peppers with grape tomato garnish. Nice little kick!

I did my normal “Design-a-Salad” for lunch using whatever was in the fridge and whatever struck me. This one has: mixed greens, grape tomatoes, fresh dill, shredded coconut and chia seeds. I hijacked K’s suggestion and topped it with olive oil, lemon juice and sea salt. Seemed like sort of an odd combination, but I went with my gut and it worked!

Day Two - lunch

I paired my salad with leftover broccoli and macaroni from last night, topped with grated romano. Romano cheese is made with sheep’s milk, by the way, which is why I can eat it. I also threw in a few cannelini beans from yesterday, for protein.

Lunch didn’t quite fill me up. I’d worked out earlier in the morning, and I still felt like I needed something with a little more substance, so I added this:

Apple & Cashew Butter

Apple & Cashew Butter

That did the trick.

Here’s my late afternoon snack:

blue corn tortillas and salsa

blue corn tortillas and salsa

This salsa from Trader Joe’s is one of the few I’ve found that does not have sugar. It’s very, very good. I’d love to make my own – and do, on occasion – but let’s face it. I have to work for a living, too.

Suppah (or dinner, for those of you who do not live in New England) was leftover Sweet Potato Curry (from the Nutrition Diva’s Secrets For a Healthy Diet) on a bed of spinach. At the request of my husband, I add a couple of small white potatoes and a pound of chicken when I make this recipe, which makes it very, very filling.

Yup. Leftovers. That’s how I rolled today. My husband is at a MUTA 6 drill this weekend. That means drill starts at 0700 on Friday instead of 0700 on Saturday, like a regular old MUTA 4. It also means that I’m off the hook as far as cooking goes. Leftovers, vegetarian meals, cold lunches – anything goes. Woo hoo!

Does it make me a horrible person if I adore drill weekends?

Don’t answer that.

ANYway…because exercise is an important part of any diet plan, Owie and I went out this afternoon and tossed around the ol’ frisbee.

Unfortunately, it didn’t last long.

frisbee

So, we’re off for a walk now. Later, we’ll probably have a chia pudding parfait while we watch a chick flick.

Did I mention that I love drill weekends?

How about you? What did you eat today that made you happy? What is your favorite thing to put in a salad?

7 responses to “Back in the Saddle

  1. I had a perfectly ripe nectarine that hit the spot. So good!

  2. I’m a huge sugar addict so I admire your resolve :) And that omelet looks yummy, I adore omelets!

  3. Good girl. I’m impressed!

  4. Yayy for a day full of sugar free! It looks wonderful!! :-)

  5. spoonfulofsugarfree

    My brother always dilutes his juice with water, too, to take his vitamins!

  6. Oooh, that omelet looks mighty good right now……

  7. I know it’s horrible but I cherish my alone time too. I just wish it was only a weekend here and there. Sometimes it’s nice to cook what you want and watch what you want…

    That omelet looks and sounds absolutely amazing! I would love to have one now! LOL! Great job on Day 2!!!

Leave a Reply

