Day Three and a (Sugar-Free) Recipe

I’ve tucked another sugar-free day under my belt. Day Three of The Sugar Free Challenge and all is well. You know – except that I ate sugar on Day One. But that wasn’t my fault!

Mostly.

Breakfast was much the same as Day One: I had my NAVI (or New And Vastly Improved) breakfast. And lunch was much the same as Day Two, so I won’t bore you with those details. (Hey, I’m lolling in a drill weekend here, remember? Don’t bother me.)

Dinner, on the other hand, was a little slice of heaven. I had Bangkok Noodles with Spicy Tomatoes – one of our favorites. It’s a little labor-intensive, but well worth it if you have the time. It’s not hard to make. There’s just a lot of chopping.

colorful veggies

Pretty!

Here is the finished product:

Bangkok Noodles

Bangkok Noodles

Well, almost. It’s not nearly as tartly and spicily flavorful if you don’t add these:

Spicy Tomatoes

Spicy Tomatoes

Thai food with a twist. I’m swooning just thinking about it and fighting back the urge to go get another plateful. I’m stuffed to capacity, but it’s that good.

Here’s how to make it. I’ve added my notes because I can never follow any recipe exactly. If I were a Camp Half-Blood demigod, it would be my fatal flaw. It’s also the reason I can’t bake for beans. But my cooking usually comes out quite good. In this case, I felt there weren’t enough vegetables so I added more, but feel free to alter things as you see fit. You can also use chicken instead of tofu if, like my husband, your fatal flaw is that there’s never enough meat.

Bangkok Noodles (source: Vegetarian Times, with my edits)

  • 1/3 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk
  • 2 Tbs. soy sauce (Note: gluten-free, of course!)
  • 2 ½ tsp. curry powder, or to taste
    • Note: I ran out of curry powder, so I made my own:
      • ½ tsp. cinnamon
      • ½ tsp. coriander
      • 1/4 tsp. cloves
      • ½ tsp. cumin
      • 1/4 tsp. turmeric
      • 1/4 tsp. chile powder
      • ½ tsp. cardamom
  • 1/4 cup chopped scallions (white and light green parts)
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 ½ tsp. vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1 Tbs. minced fresh ginger
  • 1 small hot green chile pepper, minced (seeding  is optional)
  • 4 oz. firm tofu, drained and cut into 1/2-inch
    cubes
    • Note: I used 5 oz. because that’s what comes in a package of Nasoya Tofu
  • 1 cup mung bean sprouts
  • 2 cups fresh spinach leaves
    • Note: I added: one small summer squash, sliced; one small zucchini, sliced, a half a red bell pepper, sliced; one orange bell pepper, sliced
  • 6 oz. rice vermicelli, soaked in warm water for 20 minutes and drained
    • Note: I used 8 oz. because that’s what comes in a package and rice vermicelli are virtually impossible to divide up. I also boiled it for 3 minutes, then drained because I forgot to soak it. Worked fine.

Directions

  1. In small bowl, mix broth, coconut milk, soy sauce, curry powder, scallions and black pepper. Set aside.
  2. In large wok or skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat. Stir-fry garlic, ginger, and chile until fragrant, about 10 seconds.
  3. (Note: Add all vegetables except spinach and stir-fry for 2-3 minutes.) Add tofu, and stir-fry 1 minute. Stir in soy sauce mixture, and bring to a simmer. Add 1/2 cup bean sprouts, spinach and noodles, and stir-fry, about 30 seconds.
  4. Add remaining bean sprouts, but do not mix into
    noodles. Serve with Spicy Tomatoes on the side if desired.

Spicy Tomatoes
(source: Vegetarian Times, with my edits)

Note: I usually double this recipe to have enough for all the noodles. Double all ingredients except the chile peppers. Add one more pepper if you like things spicy. The tomatoes are fire-breathing spicy.

  • 3 small green or red hot chile peppers, seeded
    and minced
  • 1 medium tomato, seeded and chopped (about 1/2
    cup)
  • 3 Tbs. fresh lime juice
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 2 medium shallots, minced
    • Note: You can substitute onions in a pinch. Not that I’d know.
  • 2 tsp. soy sauce (Note: gluten-free, of course!)

Directions

  1. In medium bowl, combine all ingredients and mix well. Let stand 10 minutes before serving. Tomatoes will keep up to 3 days, refrigerated, in covered container.
Bangkok Noodles with Spicy Tomatoes

Enjoy!

And be sure to eat with chopsticks or it’s not really Thai food.

How about you? Do you substitute when you’re cooking? Or do you follow recipes to the letter?

8 responses to “Day Three and a (Sugar-Free) Recipe

  1. It looks so goood. How I love spicy food.

  2. Yummy! I keep meaning to make this recipe thanks for posting it! Your chopped veggies are beautiful.

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree

    OooOOOooo YUMMY!! Can you make me dinner tomorrow?

  4. Yum! I always cook the recipes the way the recipe calls the first time, then I correct the recipe after that. Don’t ever let me borrow a cookbook unless you want me to write all over it.

    • I usually forget to write down what I’ve done differently, so the recipe comes out slightly different everytime. I just recently started keeping Post-It Notes in the kitchen so that I can jot down my “alterations”.

  5. The coconut milk in the noodle recipe must be delicious!

  6. Yum, yum, yum!!!! Maybe after this month of no sugar for you I will have to try it out myself. Especially since you are giving all these food ideas.

  7. Pingback: Challenge Officially Over! « Spoonful of Sugar Free

Leave a Reply

